July 16, 2024


Digitally first class

Best Project Management Certifications – Tech Network


A certification has the role of attesting to the competence of a person in a particular field. Thus, by obtaining a certification in project management, you demonstrate to your employer or your future employer that you have certain experience and the skills and knowledge necessary to manage projects. But there are several types of project management methods. We have waterfall methods, Lean, Agile methods… and therefore as many different certifications. Let’s try to list top project management certifications to understand them better.


The PMP (Project Management Professional) certification is part of the accreditation program of the PMI (Project Management Institute, North American Association). The certification program focuses on the mastery of the concepts described in the PmBok (“Project Management Body of Knowledge”). It covers the topics of project initiation and planning, through to project closure, including implementation, monitoring, and control.

The PMP certification attests to a confirmed project manager level and is not necessarily easy to obtain. It requires having exercised as a project manager at least 4500 hours during the last 6 years.

The exam consists of MCQ (multiple choice questions) of 200 questions on project management to be answered in 4 hours.


PMI- Agile Certified Practitioner is a certification for those who wish to specify in agile project management methods but not traditional methods. Many organizations issue Agile certifications. It is one of the best project management certifications that will help you learn everything about agile practices. It will also open more opportunities if you utilize your options as a project manager.


The Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) is also part of PMI’s accreditation program. It is a stepping stone for those who don’t have a college degree or any experience in the field or those who want to get PMP certification step by step rather than once. The CAPM certification can also be obtained if the requirements for the PMP certification are still met. Therefore, the CAPM certification is often used to prepare for the PMP certification.

Professional Scrum Master (PSM)

The Professional Scrum Master certification has three levels: PSM I, PSM II, and PSM III.

The first level makes it possible to demonstrate that one has a sufficiently precise understanding of Scrum and masters all the terminology used. The exam lasts one hour and is in the form of an MCQ comprising 80 questions. You must obtain at least 85% of correct answers to pass the certification.

The second level is more advanced, and level 1 is a prerequisite. We must now demonstrate that we can apply Scrum to complex situations. It, therefore, requires a thorough knowledge of the methodology. The exam lasts 120 minutes for an MCQ and essays to write. However, it is more difficult to succeed because knowledge is not enough. You also need real experience in the field of Scrum project management.

Finally, the last level demonstrates a superior mastery of the role of Scrum Master and requires a great deal of experience. Levels 1 and 2 are prerequisites. You must show a perfect understanding of Scrum and the ability to provide advice and support. The exam is again made up of an MCQ and several essays, requiring solid Scrum Master experience.

Professional Scrum Product Owner (PSPO)

Two levels make up the PSPO certification.

The first level demonstrates an intermediate knowledge and understanding of Scrum and its application to ensure maximum value in the final product.

The second level attests to a superior mastery of the use of Scrum to create value and its use in real situations. This requires a high level of involvement in the development process.

The exams last one hour and mainly consist of an 80-question MCQ.


Source link